CSIR Governing Body

As per recent news, ONGC CMD is nominated as member of governing body of CSIR.
Now the question arises, what is CSIR Governing Body?

CSIR Governing Body:
CSIR Governing body comprises of various members from various eminent fields. These members are apex body in any decision making process.

This governing body has following members:

  1. Director General CSIR - ex-officio Chairman.
  2. Secretary expenditure - ex-officio member finance. (Shri Ashok Lavasa)
  3. Dr. (Mrs.) Madhu Dikshit - Director CSIR - Central Drug Research Institute.
  4. Dr. Rakesh K. Mishra Director CSIR - Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology.
  5. Shri Dilip Shanghvi Managing Director Sun Pharmaceutical Industrial Limited.
  6. Shri Dinesh K. Sarraf Chairman and Managing Director Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Limited.
  7. Prof. M.R. Satyanarayana Rao Professor Chromatin Biology Laboratory Molecular Biology and Genetics Unit (MBGU).
  8. Prof. Srikumar Banerjee, Homi Bhabha Chair Professor Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, (BARC) and (Chancellor, Central University of Kashmir, Srinagar, J&K).
  9. Dr. Arun Kumar Grover Vice Chancellor Punjab University.
  10. Secretary (Prof. Ashutosh Sharma) Department of Science and Technology (DST).
  11. Secretary (Dr. S Christopher) Department of Defence Research and Development
    (DDRD) and Chairman, (DRDO).     
What CSIR Governing Body Do?

Members are elected by prime minister, in his capacity of ex-officio president, for three years. These members are responsible for any decision regarding the CSIR & its 38 labs.
Next Post »